Story Details

Speech & Debate State Champions

2019 Speech & Debate State Champs

On April 11-13th, the Alabama Speech & Debate Association held the State Tournament for Alabama for Speech & Debate. Teams from across Alabama competed in 21 different speech & debate events in their quest for both individual and team state championships. At the conclusion of the tournament, Montgomery Academy won First place Congressional Debate Team State Championship, Third place Individual State Championship, Second place Debate State Championship, and Overall State Champions.

speech & debate senior state champs

This is Montgomery Academy's 17th Overall State Championship, the most in the history of the Alabama State Tournament which dates back to 1956, and the third most in the United States.

Two seniors won seven individual state championships this year with Catherine Updegraff winning three, bringing her total individual state championships to four, and James Torbert winning four, bringing his total individual state championships to nine, tying him for the most overall state titles by an individual from Montgomery Academy with Madison Hall, class of 2016.

Individual honors went to:

Varsity House
James Torbert - State Champion
Cyprian Dumas - 2nd place
Sofie Behr - 3rd place
Carter Chandler - 6th place
Presiding Officer - Martha Ernest

Novice Senate
Catherine Updegraff - State Champion
Easton Strickler - 2nd place
Hannah Hale - 5th place
Tristan Dumas - 6th place
Presiding Officer - Catherine Updegraff

After Dinner Speaking
Isabella Hosein - 3rd place
Alex Brewbaker - 5th place

Dramatic Interpretation
Alex Brewbaker - 5th place

DUO Interpretation
Casey Whitt & Catherine Updegraff - 2nd place
Cole Mozingo & Alex Brewbaker - 4th place

Humorous Interpretation
Catherine Updegraff - State Champion
Casey Whitt - 3rd place

Impromptu Speaking
James Torbert - 3rd place
Carter Chandler - 4th place

Informative Speaking
Carter Chandler - 4th place

International Extemporaneous Speaking
James Torbert - State Champion
Sofie Behr - 5th place

Original Oratory
James Torbert - State Champion

Poetry Interpretation
Cyprian Dumas - 4th place

Prose Interpretation
Catherine Updegraff - State Champion
Hannah Hale - 5th place

United States Extemporaneous Speaking
Carter Chandler - 2nd place
Cyprian Dumas - 3rd place

Varsity Lincoln Douglas Debate
James Torbert - Co-State Champion
Carter Chandler - Co-State Champion
Cyprian Dumas - 5th place

Novice Lincoln Douglas Debate
Camp Jernigan - 2nd place
Tristan Dumas - 3rd place

Student of the Year - James Torbert

Team Award Final Finishes

State Champion - Montgomery Academy - 135 points
2nd place - Vestavia Hills High School - 65 points
3rd place - Prattville High School - 45 points

Individual Events
State Champion - Prattville High School - 235 points
2nd place - Vestavia Hills High School - 230 points
3rd place - Montgomery Academy - 220 points

State Champion - Auburn High School - 180 points
2nd place - Montgomery Academy - 130 points
3rd place - Mountain Brook High School - 125 points

State Champion - Montgomery Academy - 485 points
2nd place - Vestavia Hills High School - 405 points
3rd place - Prattville High School - 345 points