Story Details

Spanish Honor Society Inducts New Members

Spanish Honor Society Members 2019

Founded in August of 1953 by the Executive Council of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese, the Spanish Honor Society's objective is to recognize outstanding achievement by American secondary school students in their pursuit of Spanish language proficiency. The Marcelino Chapter was founded at The Montgomery Academy in 1975. Since the chapter's foundation, each year it inducts a select group of students into its ranks. On March 6, 2019, the Spanish Honor Society inducted its new members: Martha Cameron Ernest, Eric Eujinne Doh, Hyeonjin Jang, Jiwon Lee, Sally Haigler Shegon, Madeline Claire Sinco, Alisha Singh and Anaya Christina Thomas.

spanish honor society lighting of the candles

Students of the Spanish language eligible to be inducted in the Honor Society are expected to maintain not only an A in their language courses but also to demonstrate higher academic standards.

Spanish Honor Society officers

This year's ceremony was attended by students, family members and administrators and took place in the Aronov Leadership Center. The induction was conducted by this year's senior officers: President Lucy Meriwether Chapman,Vice-President Bisola Adediji, and Secretary-Treasurer Martha Mead Robertson. Following the ceremony, the new inductees listened to the congratulatory remarks of Montgomery Academy Head of School, Mr. John McWilliams, and enjoyed the welcoming and the camaraderie of the Chapter's Sponsors, the senior members of the Society and their families. Congratulations to the new inductees and their families!