Home >
About Us > Board of Trustees
page tools :
ContactQuicklinksCommunity Login
Montgomery Academy

About the Board of Trustees

Since 1959, the Board of Trustees of The Montgomery Academy has operated as a self-perpetuating board, which governs itself according to its bylaws. A self-perpetuating board is one on which new board members are selected by existing board members. This system, which is used at many independent schools, allows the board to maintain a list of parents, alumni, and friends of the school from which new board members are selected annually. The functions of the board are to ensure that the school is well funded for current and future needs, to employ and supervise the Head of School, to establish broad policies consistent with the Academy's mission, and to monitor the school's success in meeting its stated mission.

As with all independent schools, the Academy’s routine or daily operations are the responsibility of the Head of School and the school’s Division Directors, in whose decisions the Board of Trustees does not intervene.  In particular, the Board of Trustees does not serve as an appellate court to review the decisions of the Head of School.  Members of the Board want to be knowledgeable about matters of concern to the Academy community, and welcome opportunities to discuss them with parents, students, and alumni. However, challenges to decisions and actions of teachers, coaches, staff, and administrators should be made to the appropriate Division Director, and then, if needed, to the Head of School.  

The Montgomery Academy Board of Trustees subscribes to the Principles of Good Practice established by the National Association of Independent Schools for its member schools.  These principles define the high standards and ethical behavior that are expected of member schools in key areas of school operations.


2016-2017 Board of Trustees

Mr. Ronnie Brown '92

Mr. E. Temple Millsap III '74
Vice President


Mr. David G. Borden


Dr. Cade Armstrong

Mr. Owen Aronov

Mrs. Amelia Barnes
POA President 

Mrs. Anita Barrera

Mrs. Leura Canary

Mr. Alexander H. Carothers ‘98


Dr. Steve Davidson

Mr. John H. Foshee ‘00

Mr. Mike Jenkins IV

Mrs. Krystal Mims

Mrs. Tamika H. Reed

Mrs. Emilie H. Reid


Dr. Doug Robertson

Mr. J. Peter Selman

Mrs. Roly Singh

Mrs. Kathryn B. Slawson


Dr. Rodney Smith

Mrs. Debby Spain

Mrs. Shannon Speir


Dr. Laurie J. Weil ‘68


3240 Vaughn Rd - Montgomery, Ala. 36106 (334) 272-8210  
Lower School - 1550 Perry Hill Road - Montgomery, Ala. 36106 (334) 272-8210  Contact Us
email page print page large type small type
powered by finalsite